The Caffeine Junkie and Her Escapades

“Let us hear the conclusion of the whole matter: Fear God, and keep his commandments: for this is the whole duty of man.” Ecc 12:13

Episode 180: where I know I must be

“Home” must be one of the better national day songs, and every time I touch down in Changi that song always plays in my head. This is home, truly, where I know I must be, where my dreams wait for me… well, not quite.

My dreams did not wait for me. In fact, as self-absorbed as it sounds, most of my dreams died when I left Tullamarine. Cuz, there is not much dreaming left to be done. Life feels strangely un-expectant.

Normality isn’t even normal because something inherently has changed. Home is still home, but family is different. Friends are still friends, but the feeling of detachment can be overwhelming at times and the ghost of Simmel hangs in the balmy Sentosa air.

In the end, I am just “a triangle trying to squeeze through a circle/ She tried to cut me so I’d fit”. There is much emotional resonance to the chorus of this song ‘Scar‘ by Missy Higgins

And doesn’t that sound familiar? Doesn’t that hit too close to home?
Doesn’t that make you shiver; the way things could have gone?
And doesn’t it feel peculiar when everyone wants a little more?
And so that I do remember to never go that far,
Could you leave me with a scar?

and the picture of my favourite coffee place says the cliched X amount of words.

so I guess, this is home, truly, where I know I must be.

10 Comments»

  locomotivefantasies wrote @

hugs* i know how that feels dear~!

  locomotivefantasies wrote @

btw- the header was always intended for subversive use wasnt it.

  rit wrote @

deborah leee! Rittie writing this in *gasp* canada! YAYYYYYYYYYYYYYYIE. And yups the weather is freaking nice. Gosh how can you be scared of 2 degrees.. it is like marvellous. πŸ™‚ YAY I am so happy here. See ya πŸ™‚

  wilddizzywhirls wrote @

rita thiaaaaaaaaaaaa! WHOOPEEDOODAA! haha yay i am glad you’re enjoying canada already! YAYYYYYYYIEE! i was a wussy abt the cold before going melb rem? now i am dying from heat in sg. *pbbt* anyway, see you *not so* soon. (see, didn’t jinx it!) πŸ™‚

  purplecross wrote @

i remember one line,” this is where I won’t be alone/ cause this is where I know I’m home”

*hugs* of course I can never say i fully understand. but, there’s is Jesus who understands.. now that I think of it. gosh. earth vs heaven. which is better?!

island creamery, yeah? me, ms & wy decided it’d be out treat to you to welcome you home. set aside space,k!

  wilddizzywhirls wrote @

oh thats true, selectivedepressivememorymode made me forget that “this is where i won’t be alone” bit. *sheepish smile*
and of course i’ve always got space for icecream darl! πŸ˜€ whoopeedeedooodaadaee!

  maicie wrote @

oh boy. i’ve never tried island creamery before. don’t worry debs. my quirkiness will perk you up any day.

  wilddizzywhirls wrote @

oh great then, we’ll induct you to the wonderful world that is islandcreamery. and i couldn’t agree more wrt to your quirkiness, miss meisimeimei πŸ™‚

  maicie wrote @

u get a kick out of calling me meisimeimei right.

  Jiannie wrote @

no needs to be sads… it’s a passing thingy. i’m sads leaving UCLA too… got to know so many people so late that it’s painfuls to have to leaves… buts then, i tell myself that it just adds more reason and motivation to return for visits…

and yeah, u have many people at HOME who miss u too… 21 years of HOME and 5 months of SEP… it’s a tricky choice but i’d go for 21…

and of cos, u have Him always. Remember, He gives and He takes, but only based on a greater plan built upon the foundation of His love for you and us all. u’ll be fine… at least u have me bugging u all over again hehehe…

i’m back now too… kinda hard to realize that there’re people i really miss back in UCLA. and the fact that i #%$^&*Y^*%#&$%$ didn’t get to meet Jared Diamond in person!!! $%$^&*^&^$&%^$&!!! and i wished i was doing ISM with Allen J. Scott!!! and i didn’t get enough time to take photo of UCLA and with my Vin Diesel Prof!

not going church today cos of jetlag… am damn awake now but will be dead asleep in a matter of hours… and so much to unpack! crazy man… like 3 boxes of 24″X24″X24″… and my back pack and suitcase… and i need to buy my ticket to norway pronto! sianz… and i’m hungry!!!!


Leave a comment